They Will Have To Kill Us First: Malian Music In Exile Soundtrack

Music is the beating heart of Malian culture, but when Islamic jihadists took control of northern Mali in 2012, they enforced one of the harshest interpretations of sharia law by banning all forms of music. Radio stations were destroyed, instruments burned, and Mali’s musicians faced torture, even death. Overnight, the country’s revered musicians were forced into hiding or exile, where most remain — even now. But rather than laying down their instruments, these courageous artists fought back, standing up for their freedoms and using music as a weapon against the ongoing violence that has ravaged their homeland. They Will Have To Kill Us First: Malian Music In Exile follows the group Songhoy Blues and musicians Kharia Arby, Fadimata “Disco” Walet Oumar, and Moussa Sidi as they each deal with the unfathomable situation in different ways.

Directed by Johanna Schwartz, the film – hailed by The New York Times as "a vibrant testimony of resilience under oppression" — features an original score by Nick Zinner (Yeah Yeah Yeahs). Zinner assembled the soundtrack, which features many of the musicians from the film, including Songhoy Blues and Moussa Sidi, as well as other Saharan African musicians, such as Bombino, Vieux Farka and Ali Farka Touré. The soundtrack underlines these extraordinary musicians’ struggle against persecution.

1. Gna Ta Ka Da – Lyrics by Amkoullel, Music by Nick Zinner
2. Khaira’s Theme – Nick Zinner
3. Asswl – Abdallah Ag Alhousseini
4. Disco’s Theme – Nick Zinner
5. Saya – Kankou Kouyaté
6. Jimmy’s Theme / Enter the MNLA – Nick Zinner
7. Baba Hou – Songhoy Blues
8. Diadie – Afel Bocoum
9. France, Mali, Minusma / Moving Steadily North – Khaira Arby /Nick Zinner
10. Radio Timbuktu – Nick Zinner
11. Machengoidi – Ali Farka Touré & Toumani Diabaté
12. Bamako Ballade / Solent – Nick Zinner/ Songhoy Blues
13. Nick (“Here Come the Producers” Remix) – Songhoy Blues
14. Moussa’s Theme – Nick Zinner
15. Imuhar – Bombino
16. Ma Tekinam Ya Kada – Moussa Sidi
17. Du Sang dans le Sable – Lyrics by Amkoullel. Music by Nick Zinner
18. Algeria – Nick Zinner
19. Jolie (“Abraham Lincoln” Remix) – Songhoy Blues
20. Karanda – Ali Farka Touré
21. Dounia Tade – Amanar Feat Vieux Farka Touré
22. Petit Métier – Songhoy Blues
23. Children’s Song – Fadimata “Disco” Walett Oumar
24. Fear in My Belly – Nick Zinner feat. Khaira Arby
25. Horei – Songhoy Blues
26. In The Blue Room – Khaira Arby
27. Jenuesse – Lyrics by Kankou Kouyaté, Music by Nick Zinner
28. Soubour (“Paddington” Remix) – Songhoy Blues
29. Sekou Oumarou (“Timbuktu” Remix) – Songhoy Blues
30. Abarajou Square – Nick Zinner
31. Amalgam – Khaira Arby
32. Ayama Yama Yama – Moussa Sidi

Digital Files

Digital Download - MP3 - $9.00 Buy
Digital Download - WAV - $10.00 Buy

Similar Items

Your item has been added to the cart. Continue Shopping    Proceed To Checkout