Rasputina – Cabin Fever!

Rasputina's supernatural approach in making music is impressive, because it's independent of the goth rock that came before the band and especially alone in the current mainstream. It's practically primitive, but positively so. Cabin Fever, Rasputina's third studio album, casts a dark dreamscape of lush string arrangements and grating cellos, and Melora Creager's sinister scowl is at its best. The pseudo-classical chaos of "AntiqueHighHeelRedDollShoes" and "Thimble Island" is invasive and the metal distortion of "Sweet Water Kill (The Ocean Song)" struts with Siouxsie Sioux appeal. K. Cowperthwaite and Nana Bornant complete the trio's fascination with 19th century imagery, and the band's typical musical menagerie of psychosis ("Cross Walk") and humor ("PJ + Vincent & Matthew + Bjork") isn't terribly melancholy. "A Quitter" captures the band's unique sound structure: It's charming with a dream pop aesthetic; however, Rasputina's finer moments sustain a soft spot for a romantic fabliau. "The Hunter's Kiss" plays around with that notion with its twirling cellos and storybook lyrics. The goth rock element shifts once again, and Cabin Fever suggests that Rasputina's corsets aren't too tight.

01. Gingerbread Coffin
02. Thimble Island
03. State Fair
04. Sweet Water Kill (The Ocean Song)
05. Remnants Of Percy Bass
06. Rats
07. Clipped
08. PJ + Vincent & Matthew + Bjork
09. My Orphanage
10. Crosswalk
11. Hunter’s Kiss
12. Our Lies
13. Antique High Heel Red Doll Shoes
14. Cooped
15. A Quitter
Release Date: April 9, 2002

CD - $10.00 Add to Cart

Digital Files

Digital - MP3 - $8.00 Buy

Similar Items

Your item has been added to the cart. Continue Shopping    Proceed To Checkout